top of page

MY STORY

Who am I? What's my background? Why am I taking on this extra-ordinary challenge? How am I preparing? How well is it going? 

​

Check out this blog for the answers to all these questions and much, much more ...

Search

10 things to do in the 10 weeks until the 10in10 begins!


There are now less than 10 weeks until the 10in10 challenge begins and there is plenty of work to be done between now and then. Both training and fundraising need to pick up the pace, so here is Part One of my Top Ten things I need to do to complete my preparations:


  1. Stop making excuses - heavy workloads, family stresses, tiredness, niggles & aches, the dark, the cold, the rain; all excuses used to reduce or even avoid my planned training activities over the last few weeks. There will be no excuses available come the 10th of May so now is the time to learn how to overcome these mental barriers, for example, look for the positives, take advantage of every little opportunity and relish in the satisfaction of achieving rather than avoiding.

  2. Move more - it's still all too easy to sit fixed in a chair for extended periods of time which is not helping with the little niggles accumulating from the volume of training. I will use a countdown timer on my computer to remind me to get up and move at regular intervals, using the opportunities to work through tight spots or simply to focus on breathing!

  3. Stick to the plan - having experimented on and off for quite a while with the idea of the Ketogenic or LCHF (Low Carb Healthy Fat) approach to nutrition, I've worked much more seriously over the last few weeks to become 'fat-adapted' bringing with it (hopefully) all the advantages of using fat for fuel such as lower calorie demands during running, reduced accumulation of lactic acid, less muscle damage, less risk of digestive issues due to lower reliance on carbs and improved recovery (see here and here for an interesting overview and further information). Whilst it has been challenging at times, with issues such as carb cravings & lack of time for meal prepping, I'm now starting to feel the benefits with easy runs becoming easier, recovery noticeably faster and meal planning considerably easier. A shout out at this point must go to Richard Smith of Keto Pro for his advice and support. If this is something you are interested in then Richard's knowledge & experience, superb products and exceptional customer service are highly recommended!

  4. Drink more - hydration is improving, incorporating Precision Hydration electrolytes into my daily regimen has certainly helped but there are still days when my fluid intake needs to increase. Bottles of water will be kept in my car and I will ensure I always have a bottle to hand wherever I am.

  5. Calculate my nutritional requirements - to help me get used to my race day nutritional strategies, it is important to practise them in training. A key part of this preparation is figuring out the frequency and content of my planned fuel stops. If I intend to stick with the Keto Pro approach it is vital that I accustom my body to fuel before, during and after each long run with appropriate amounts of fat, carbs and protein. Time to get into the sports science labs at UCLAN and figure some of this out!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page