top of page

MY STORY

Who am I? What's my background? Why am I taking on this extra-ordinary challenge? How am I preparing? How well is it going? 

​

Check out this blog for the answers to all these questions and much, much more ...

Search

WHO AM I?

Updated: Jan 14, 2019


I’m a 40-year-old husband, father of three young(ish) children and Lecturer in Human Movement (Sport & PE) at the University of Central Lancashire. I’ve always been active throughout my childhood and into my early adult days, whether that be playing sports, running, cycling or training at the gym.

​

My teenage years and early adulthood focussed mainly on training and playing football, hockey and cricket, so my training focus was primarily on speed and power – rarely running more than 20-30 minutes at a time or working out for longer than an hour! What a change marathon running's been!

​

My first venture into road running came almost 10 years ago when I entered the Silverstone Half-marathon to support a friend. My naivety was a great learning experience, crashing and burning on the track at approx. 8 miles – which coincidentally was the furthest I’d ever run in training! I did, however, at least manage to run/walk to the end to finish in just over 2 hours.

​

I didn’t fully catch the running bug at that point, but over the following few years, I began running more frequently and entered a few trail races in the Lake District, my favourite place to run and explore.

​

My next serious venture into running was my charity 365-day Run Streak challenge which I completed between September 2014 and August 2015. I carefully juggled my running, family and work commitments throughout the year as I had two young children and was, at the time, working as a full-time Primary School teacher. I formulated this idea as a way of raising money for my local children’s hospice, and to challenge myself both mentally and physically. I added in additional challenges: running a minimum 1-mile per day (I actually completed more than 2000 miles in the year), as well as racing monthly at consecutively greater distances from 5k to ultra-marathon. During this time, I successfully completed my first marathon (Hardmoors Rosedale) and ultra-marathon (St Begas Way SBU35) and managed to stay injury-free. I raised just over £2000 in charitable donations.

​

I’ve since continued to run regularly though primarily for myself rather than participating in lots of races. As my understanding of my own body and movement & fitness in general continues to develop, I am now back at the point of seeking a fresh challenge. I applied for the Brathay 10in10 as, not only will I be raising money for a fantastic cause, it will also test my mental and physical strengths to prepare for and successfully run 10 consecutive marathons.

​

The opportunity to hopefully meet the legendary, inspirational runner Joss Naylor is also one not to be missed!

​

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page